Turku

Home of the World’s Biggest and Most Efficient Cruise Ships

Finland has a long tradition in shipbuilding and maritime industry – the first shipyard was established as far back as the 18th century. During the 20th and 21st centuries, the shipbuilding industry has developed into one of the pivotal high technology industries in Finland.

Turku Leads the Way

The banks of the River Aura nurtured the development of the local shipbuilding industry, and the high point has been reached in the last twenty years, when the world's largest cruise ships have been built in the Turku shipyard. The production of these enormous vessels is the result of an innovative and competent network of Finnish companies, including various engineering firms as well as system, service and material suppliers.

Southwest Finland – in particular Turku and the areas surrounding it – is the single most important maritime technology industry region in Finland. The Turku Region holds 55% of the whole Finnish maritime technology industry companies.

City of Turku has founded the research unit Meridiem with several leading Finnish maritime universities. This research unit serves maritime sector companies in their R&D activities and projects. Meridiem aims to form a functional model to increase scientific research as well as education within the maritime and offshore industry. The ultimate aim is to create internationally acknowledged innovation hubs. [Meridiem is the name of the research unit]

Groundbreaking Technology

The modern Finnish maritime industry is founded on world class competence and innovation. The industry has jointly invested in marine-specific R&D programs and innovation platforms.

The Finnish maritime cluster companies provide products and services to several global maritime segments, including world's biggest cruise ships, azimuth thrusters, waste management systems, fire prevention technology, automated terminals and novel ICT solutions like ship design software and arctic know-how.

The Finnish maritime industry is specialized in ship design, ship construction, ship repair, ship power and propulsion, on-board cargo solutions, cargo handling equipment and systems, engineering, design, life-cycle maintenance solutions and ship operation technology, and energy efficient solutions.

The Finnish maritime industry also produces ferries, technically demanding special vessels and vessels for arctic conditions – always with the best possible environmental solutions.

图尔库 Turku

世界上最大和最高效游轮的家 Home of the World’s Biggest and Most Efficient Cruise Ships

芬兰的造船业和海运工业历史悠久——第一个造船厂早在18世纪成立。在20世纪和21 世纪,造船业已发展成为芬兰核心高科技产业之一。

图尔库之路

奥拉河的河岸孕育了当地造船业的发展,当世界最大的游轮在图尔库船厂建造时,造 船业在过去20年达到了鼎盛。生产这些巨型船是芬兰公司的创新合作成果,包括各种 工程公司以及系统、服务和材料供应商。

芬兰西南部——特别是图尔库和其周边地区——是芬兰唯一最重要的海上科技产业 区。55%的芬兰海上科技产业公司位于图尔库地区。

图尔库市与芬兰几个主要海事大学成立了研究单位Meridiem。这个研究单位为海事部 门公司的研发活动和项目服务。Meridiem的目的是塑造一个功能模型,以增加海事和 海洋产业方面的科学研究与教育。其最终目标是创建国际认可的创新中心。

突破性技术

现代芬兰海上工业依托其世界级能力与创新所建立。该产业在海洋特定研发项目和创 新平台进行联合投资。

芬兰海事集群企业为几个全球海事分支提供产品和服务,包括世界上最大的游轮、方 位推进器、废物管理系统、防火技术、自动化终端和诸如船舶设计软件与北极技术的 新信息通信技术解决方案。

芬兰海上工业专门从事船舶设计、船舶建造、船舶修理、船舶动力和推进、船载货物 解决方案、货物装卸设备、系统、工程、设计、生命周期维护解决方案和船舶操作技 术,以及节能解决方案。

芬兰海上工业也生产渡轮、技术要求高的特殊船舶和在北极条件下使用的船舶——总是提供尽可能最好的与环境相关的解决方案。