Helsinki

Innovation Capital of Medical Technology

The Finns know the ropes when it comes to challenging product development – the country's health technology industry's exports exceed imports by a wide, and growing, margin. Companies operating in Finland are increasingly making use of the possibilities of domestic outsourcing in the design and manufacturing of reliable, easy-to-use complex medical systems.

Finland has a high-quality health care system. For a country of its size, it also boasts a large number of health technology professionals. For decades, the country's dynamic health technology industry has been innovating and developing technology solutions for the global market - helping millions of people around the world and employing tens of thousands of people in Finland.

High Level of Specialization

Over the recent five-year period 2007-2012, Finland's health technology manufacturing and exports have seen an average growth of over 8% annually, despite the recession. In fact, this rate of growth virtually matches the long-term growth rate of over 8% annually since 1996. Health technology companies operating in Finland are highly specialized, and several rank among the largest in their field. Products developed in Finland are renowned for being robust, as well as safe and effective.

Health technology is now the second largest high-tech export sector in Finland and the only significant high-tech product sector where Finland has been able to show consistent growth and a positive trade balance over multiple economic cycles.

The trade statistics speak for Finland's strong product development expertise. Many of the world's largest, international medical technology companies have acquired Finnish companies and expanded their operations in Finland. Relative to its size, the health technology sector has probably attracted more foreign direct investment (FDI) into Finland than any other sector.

Reliable Expert Partners in Design, Manufacturing & Regulatory Affairs

Finnish heath technology companies are also increasingly involved in global outsourcing, design and the manufacturing of complex systems. They have the expertise to take responsibility for testing, quality assurance and regulatory approval procedures and can deliver turn-key solutions to international medtech customers.

The Finns have particular expertise in developing user-friendly systems. Examples include equipment for anesthesia, laboratory sample processing, brain diagnostics and treatment, craniofacial imaging and dental care, as well as brain imaging and diagnostic mapping. Furthermore, Finnish professionals possess strong expertise in complex signal processing technologies, materials technology, and, naturally, mobile health solutions.

In the field of biomaterials for orthopedic implants, some of the most significant recent innovations have come from Finland's research and development efforts.

 

Examples of Companies to Visit

  • Firstbeat - Leader in Heartbeat Analysis Technology
    • 1000 billion heartbeats analyzed
    • 15+ years of experience in heart rate variability analysis methods
    • 300+ professional sports teams that use Firstbeat

    Firstbeat Technologies has developed an innovative heart rate variability (HRV) based analysis technology for measurement of stress, recovery and exercise. The company has over 15 years of experience in HRV analysis methods. Our products are based on a unique combination of physiology, mathematical modeling and understanding of behavioral change.

    From physiological measurements to concrete feedback: Products for fitness, sports and wellbeing 

    Our software products provide valuable information about the impact of lifestyle on physiology. This information can be applied to occupational health and performance consultation services as well as to fitness and competitive sports. Our technology is also used in consumer products such as heartbeat analysis solutions.

    Website: www.firstbeat.com

  • Nexstim

    Founded in 2000, Nexstim Oy is the world leader in image-guided transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS). Nexstim has pioneered the technology for brain diagnostics and with FDA-clearance, Nexstim’s Navigated Brain Stimulation (NBS) System is recognized as the emerging standard for presurgical functional mapping. In 2012, Nexstim launched the Navigated Brain Therapy (NBT) System for the treatment of brain injury and disease. The NBT System uses repetitive TMS, with accurate 3D-guidance of the therapeutic electric field enabled by the patient's magnetic resonance images. NBT is being studied for the rehabilitation of patients suffering the consequences of stroke. In other challenging brain diseases such as depression, NBT allows for personalized non-drug treatment. NBT System is CE-marked.

     

  • Oy Medfiles Ltd.

    Medfiles is a Contract Research Organisation (CRO) & R&D/Analytical Laboratory with more than 26 years track record working with clients throughout the world including Chinese Healthcare companies. We partner with EPS International (www.epsgr.com) in China to support international activities.

    Our service portfolio includes:

    • Laboratory services such as analytical evaluation, EU release analytics with QP service, stability studies to conform to EU requirements. Method development & method transfer. We have GMP Certified Laboratories.
    • Regulatory submission and Marketing Authorization Services including consultancy & training. Full Service that covers over 80 countries.
    • Clinical Evaluation for products entering Europe & US – Bioequivalence clinical trials, managing pre sales studies in large EU markets such as Sweden, Germany, UK. Conducting feasibilities.
    • Quality Management Services such as auditing distributors, manufacturing plants, projects.
    • Pharmacovigilance Services such as Eudravigilance reporting, QPPV, consultancy
    • Market Access Services such as conducting Pricing & Reimbursement applications

    We use eCTMS, WebeX, Lync and similar systems to manage our communications/projects & of course via our partner EPS International you can conduct these meetings in Chinese with us. 

    Medfiles is looking for pharmaceutical, medical device, biotech, Veterinary, functional food companies wanting to enter EU or US markets.

赫尔辛基 Helsinki

医疗技术的创新资本 Innovation Capital of Medical Technology

芬兰人了解产品开发挑战的内情——国家健康科技行业出口不断增长的利润率超过进 口。芬兰境内运作的公司,在设计和制造可靠、易于使用的复杂医疗系统方面,正越来 越多的利用国内外包的可能性。

芬兰有一个高质量的健康保健系统。对于一个这样大小的国家,它也拥有大量的健康专 业技术人员。几十年来,这个国家的动态健康科技产业已为全球市场创新和发展了技术 解决方案——帮助了世界各地数以百万计的人,在芬兰雇佣了成千上万的人。

高水平的专业化

2007—2012五年间,尽管经济衰退,但芬兰的健康科技制造和出口平均每年增长超过 8%。事实上,这样的增长率几乎与1996年来长期年均增长超过8%的增长率相匹配。 在芬兰运作的卫生科技公司是高度专业化的,其中几家公司还是其所在领域中规模最大 的。芬兰的产品开发以健康、安全和高效而著称。

现在,健康科技已成为芬兰第二大高科技出口领域,并且是芬兰在多个经济周期显示出 持续增长和积极贸易平衡的唯一重要的高科技产品领域。

贸易数据说明了芬兰强大的产品开发专业技能。许多世界上最大的国际医疗技术企业已 经收购了芬兰公司,并在芬兰拓展他们的业务。相对于它的大小,健康科技领域可能已 经比其他领域为芬兰吸引了更多外国直接投资(FDI)。

在设计、制造和管理事物方面可靠的专家合作伙伴

芬兰卫生技术公司也越来越多的参与到全球外包、设计和制造的复杂体系中。他们有专 业技术负责测试、保证质量和监管审批程序,可以为国际中等技术客户提供交钥匙解决 方案。

芬兰人在开发用户友好系统方面特别专业。例如包括麻醉设备、实验室样品处理、大脑 诊断和治疗、颅面成像和牙科保健,以及脑成像和诊断映射。此外,芬兰专业人士在复 杂的信号处理技术、材料技术、自然灵活健康解决方案方面掌握了强大的专业知识。

在骨科植入物的生物材料领域,一些近来最重要的创新来自芬兰的研究和开发工作。

公司

  • Firstbeat—心率分析技术领袖
    • 分析过1万亿例心率
    • 拥有心率变异分析法15年以上经验
    • 超过300位职业球队使用Firstbeat

    Firstbeat Technologies 研发出了一种创新的基于心率变异(HRV)分析技术,适用于压力,恢复和运动疗法。公司在HRV分析法方面拥有超过15年的经验。产品主要以创新的生理学,数学建模和行为变化理解学科的结合为基础。

    从生理测试到具体反馈:有健身产品,运动产品以及保健品。

    我们的软件产品针对生理学对生活方式的影响提供了十分有益的信息。这些信息可用于职业健康和业绩咨询服务以及健身,竞技性体育运动。此外我们的技术也适用于其他终端产品,比如心率分析解决方案。

    网站(英语):www.firstbeat.com

  • Nexstim

    Nexstim Oy 成立于2000年,是世界图像引导经颅磁刺激(TMS)领导者。Nexstim 是脑部诊断领域先驱,运用FDA预检技术,Nexstim 的导航脑刺激系统Navigated Brain Stimulation (NBS) System被公认为是术前脑功能成像的新兴标准。2012年,Nexstim 发布了导航大脑疗法 Navigated Brain TherapyNBTSystem 治疗脑部损伤和疾病。 NBT System 使用重复的图像引导经颅磁刺激,以患者的磁性共振成像激活的精确的3D引导治疗电场。NBT被用来研究中风病人的康复效果。在其他具有挑战性的大脑疾病中,例如抑郁症,NBT疗法可作为个性化的非药物性治疗方案。Navigated Brain Therapy System 获得了欧洲共同体认证标志。

  • Oy Medfiles Ltd

    Medfiles 是一家拥有26年国际合作经验的研究机构(CRO)以及研发和分析实验室。我们的客户包括中国医疗保健企业。我们与中国EPS International (www.epsgr.com) 合作以支持国际活动。

    公司服务范围:

    • 实验室服务,如分析评估,EU发布的包含QP服务的分析报告,满足EU要求的稳定性研究。方法研究和方法转换。公司拥有GMP 注册实验室。
    • 规章递交和市场授权服务包括咨询和培训。为80多个国家提供全方位服务。
    • 为产品进入欧洲和美国提供临床评价——生物等效性临床试验,在广大的欧盟市场,如瑞典,德国和英国管理售前研究。
      进行可行性研究。
    • 质量管理服务,如审核经销商,生产车间及项目等。
    • 药物警戒服务,例如Eudravigilance 报告,QPPV和咨询服务。
    • 市场准入服务,例如进行定价和补偿申请。

    我们采用eCTMS, WebeX, Lync 及其他类似系统来进行沟通和管理项目,当然在合作伙伴EPS International 的协助下,你也可以用汉语与我们召开会议。

    Medfiles 正在寻找与制药,医疗设备,生物科技,兽医,功能性食物类领域并期望进入欧洲或美国市场的企业合作的机会。