Rovaniemi

Centre of Arctic Know-How

Snowy winter, a cold testing laboratory and test tracks make Rovaniemi a major location for arctic technology and expertise in Europe.

Cold and Winter Technology

Rovaniemi is home to some of the top companies in the world in the field of arctic technology. The world leader in the development and manufacturing of snowmobiles, for example, is located in the town. Their know-how is based on a deep understanding of winter, snow and the tough northern terrain. State-of-the art manufacturing technology and the best industrial practices are being used in the manufacture.

The Arctic Power research, development and testing center supports local technology companies to develop their products and test them in cold and snowy conditions.

Environmental Technology

Rovaniemi offers expertise in environmental technology, which includes purification of polluted soil and treatment of municipal and industrial sludge. A functional model and technique has been developed for producing a natural fertilizer and earth improvement substance directly from the sludge produced by the municipal sewage treatment plant.

Arctic Expertise for the Industrial Sector

The mining industry in Lapland is a field that is clearly growing. Rovaniemi has become an industrial centre which offers manufacturing and maintenance services for the mining and energy sector as well as the forest industry.

Local manufacturing companies offer environmentally-friendly hydraulic solutions for various applications. Furthermore, innovative drilling rigs for the mining sector are manufactured in the region.

Creative Industry

Rovaniemi is the cultural capital of Lapland, and the creative industry has a strong footing in the town. The combination of pure Lappish nature, excellent infrastructure and the attraction of Santa Claus offer ideal settings for creative industry, film industry and game industry.

Europe´s leading manufacturer of playground equipment is based in Rovaniemi. The company´s core business focus is in designing and manufacturing playground and sports equipment for all ages. The company uses local sources for manufacturing. Play area design has yet to become global and appreciated by a broader audience in Europe, Asia and Australia.

Well-being from the Lapland Nature

Northern people have used herbs and berries for various medicinal purposes long before modern medicine evolved. Lapland herbs and berries contain exceptionally pure and effective active ingredients. The pure Arctic nature ingredients are used in manufacturing of cosmetics as well as other care products.

Examples of Companies to Visit

  • Metsähallitus

    Metsähallitus is a state enterprise that manages state owned forests with world leading technology. Latest innovations and applications, such as laser scanning and IT based optimization and management systems, are introduced to everyday work as quickly as possible. Harvesting is done with harvesters equipped with best available technology.

    Metsähallitus is also among the world leaders in participatory planning, which ensures that forestry takes in to account all of stakeholders and users.

    Metsähallitus is one of the world leaders in considering forest biodiversity in the forestry areas and endangered species have been successfully protected in multipurpose forests.

    The office building of Metsähallitus is one of the biggest wooden buildings in Finland and there is also located the science center Pilke.

  • Norrdyhro

    Norrhydro is a company that specialises in hydraulics and has worked to produce power and motion for nearly 30 years.

    Our expertise is evident in all customer-oriented solutions, covering nearly all cylinder applications. Our service is designed so that turning to us is always a cost-efficient solution. Quality is ensured by our knowledgeable professionals.

    Norrhydro includes Norrhydro Oy and a Chinese subsidiary, Norrhydro Hydraulic Systems (Changzhou) Co. Ltd. Our business areas are Norrhydro cylinders, Norrdigi-solutions and Norrhydro services. 

  • Detria Oy

    Detria Oy produces and markets natural cosmetics and other herbal care products. The company is established in Rovaniemi in 1996. The effective ingredients come from herbs handpicked in the purest parts of Lapland. Detria is the leading Finnish company in its field, with an annual turnover of 2 million euros.

    Detria products are based on Detria’s knowledge of extracts of peat and herbs. Modern biotechnology, research and development data, tradition, raw materials grown in clean northern nature, and solid hands-on experience, makes Detria’s treatment preparations unique, effective and safe.

    Detria has three different product lines. Detria Arbutin for skin care, Detria Relaxant for body and muscle treatment as well as Relaxant Animal for animal skin problems. 

  • Arctic Power

    Arctic Power is a significant centre of excellence in cold climate engineering. For us, arctic means managing challenging environmental conditions and utilising them in a variety of operating environments. 

    We create solutions for our customers through applied research and practical demonstrations. Our diversified ICT know-how allows us to develop intelligent measurement and testing solutions.  Our service is based on our independent, flexible expertise.

    We also support start-up companies in the development of their innovations and we provide assistance in matters related to project funding and project management.

    Arctic Power is part of Lapland University of Applied Sciences and we have operated since 2003 with significant results.

    Website: www.arcticpower.fi/en/ 

  • Lampivaara Amethyst Mine

    Lampivaara Amethyst Mine is a unique destination in Lapland and even in whole Europe. Beautiful, purple gem stones were born 2000 million years ago in the bowels of the ancient mountains. Due to several ice ages as well as other nature circumstances, these precious stones can nowadays be found on the surface of the Lampivaara hill.

    Mining and digging is done environmentally friendly  and Amethyst Mine welcomes visitors all year round.

    Visits are always guided and all guests will learn about interesting geology and history as well as they may dig own, lucky amethyst stone.

    Website: www.amethystmine.fi

罗瓦涅米 Rovaniemi

北极技术中心 Centre of Arctic Know-How

下雪的冬日,寒冷测试实验室和测试跟踪使得罗瓦涅米成为欧洲北极技术和专门技术的主 要位置。

寒冷和冬季科技

罗瓦涅米是世界上北极科技领域里诸多顶尖企业的所在地。例如:开发和制造雪地摩托的 世界领跑者就坐落在这座小镇。他们的科技基于对冬季、雪和恶劣北部地形的深刻理解。 先进的制造技术和最好的工业实践被应用于生产中。

北极电力研究、开发和测试中心支持当地技术公司开发他们自己的产品,并在寒冷、下雪 条件下进行测试。

环保技术

罗瓦涅米提供专业的环保技术,包括被污染土壤的净化以及市政、工业污泥的处理。一项 实用模型和技术已被市政污水处理厂开发利用污泥生产天然肥料和土壤改善物质。

工业部门的北极专业技术

拉普兰的采矿业是一个正在显著发展的领域。罗瓦涅米已经成为了一个工业中心,为采矿 业、能源领域以及森林产业提供制造和维修服务。

当地制造公司为各种应用提供环境友好型的液压解决方案。此外,该地区还制造采矿业领 域的创新型钻机。

创意产业

罗瓦涅米是拉普兰的文化之都,创意产业已在该镇立足。淳朴的拉普兰自然、良好的基础 设施和圣诞老人的吸引力相结合,为创意产业、电影产业和游戏产业提供了理想的配置。

欧洲游乐场设备的领先制造商位于罗瓦涅米。该公司的核心业务集中在设计和制造适合所 有年龄段群体的游乐场、体育设备。公司利用当地资源进行制造。游戏区设计即将全球 化,并受到欧洲、亚洲和澳大利亚广大受众的认可。

来自拉普兰大自然的健康

早在现代医学发展之前,北方人就将草本植物和浆果作为各种药用。拉普兰草本植物和浆 果含有特别纯粹和有效的活性成分。纯北极自然成分被应用于化妆品及其他保健产品的制造中。

公司

  • Metsähallitus

    Metsähallitus 是一个管理国有森林资源,拥有世界领先技术的国有企业。最新的创新科技和应用,例如激光扫描和基于IT技术的优化和管理系统,都很快地被运用到日常工作中。有技术,就能获得丰收。

    Metsähallitus 也是世界参与式规划的领先者,确保了林业顾虑到所有持股人和使用者的利益。

    Metsähallitus 是世界森林生物多样性领域的领先者,濒危物种在多用途森林中得到了很好的保护。

    Metsähallitus的办公楼是芬兰最大的木材建筑群之一,科学中心Pilke也位于此处。

  • Norrhydro

    Norrhydro是一家致力于液压技术的企业,并已在液压制造和运动领域拥有了接近30年的生产经验。

    我们的专业水平在各种以客户为导向的方案中得以体现,几乎涵盖了所有汽缸应用。我们提供定制服务,所以我们能为客户提供具有成本效益的解决方案。知识渊博的专业人士是品质的保障。

    Norrhydro包括Norrhydro Oy和一家在中国的子公司,Norrhydro 液压系统(常州)有限公司。公司的经营范围主要是Norrhydro汽缸,Norrdigi液压方案和Norrhydro系列服务。

  • Detria Oy

    Detria Oy主要生产和经营纯天然化妆品和其他草本护肤产品。公司于1996年成立于罗瓦涅米。卓有成效的产品成分均来自从拉普兰最纯净的土地手工采摘的草本植物。Detria是芬兰同行业领域中的佼佼者,其年收益达到2百万欧元。

    Detria公司的产品依靠公司在泥炭和草本植物提取领域的专业技术。现代生物科技,研发数据,传统(工艺),种植在北部纯净生态环境中的原材料和扎实的实践经验,造就了Detria独特,有效,安全的护肤方案。

    公司拥有3条不同的生产线。包括护肤产品线Detria Arbutin,针对身体和肌肉护理的生产线Detria Relaxant以及针对动物皮肤问题的Relaxant Animal 生产线。

  • Arctic Power

    Arctic Power是一家杰出的致力于寒冷气候工程的生产中心。对我们而言,北极意味着对具有挑战性的环境条件并在各种操作环境中充分利用这些挑战因素。

    我们为客户提供解决方案通过应用研究和实际示范的形式。丰富的ICT专业技术确保我们能够开发出智能测量和检测方案。我们凭借独立,灵活的专业技术(为客户)提供服务。

    与此同时,我们也支持新成立的企业发展他们的创新能力并在项目融资和项目管理等方面为其提供协助。

    Arctic Power隶属于拉普兰大学应用科技学院自2003年开始运营以来已取得显著的成果。

    网站(英语):www.arcticpower.fi/en/ 

  • Lampivaara紫水晶矿山

    Lampivaara紫水晶矿山在拉普兰,甚至在整个欧洲可谓一道独具风格的景观。美丽的紫色水晶石在2亿年前形成于古老的山体之中。在经过数次的冰河时代以及其他自然环境的作用下,这些珍贵的宝石如今可在Lampivaara 山体表面见到。

    这里矿石开采和挖掘按照环保方式有序进行紫水晶矿山一年四季对游客开放。 这里提供导游服务,而且所有游客都将了解到有趣的地质和历史信息甚至还可以亲自去采挖能带来好运的紫水晶。

    网站(英语):http://www.amethystmine.fi